Eight Computer Sciences undergrad honorees awarded scholarships

The Chancellor’s Undergraduate Awards Ceremony was held online this year and honors include eight Computer Sciences undergraduates. Congratulations to all! You can read the full article here. CS honorees are as follows:

Hilldale Undergraduate/Faculty Research Fellowships

These fellowship provide students with funds to conduct research projects in collaboration with faculty members.  The award provides $3,000 to each undergraduate winner and $1,000 to the student’s faculty or staff advisor. 

Ishan Chakravarty
Biology, Computer Sciences
Zachary Morris, Faculty Advisor
Utilizing Locally Injected Immune Adjuvants to Enhance the Efficacyof External Beam Radiotherapy in an Immunologically “Cold” Tumor Model

Taijing Chen
Computer Sciences, Mathematics
Ben Parrell, Faculty Advisor
Modeling Speech Motor Learning under Auditory Perturbations

Yichen Li
Computer Sciences, Electrical Engineering
Irena Knezevic, Faculty Advisor
Exciton Diffusion in Carbon-Nanotube Thin Films

Noah Siegel
Computer Sciences
Saswati Bhattacharya, Faculty Advisor
Investigating of Combination CDK4/6 Inhibition with Anti-Androgens in a Novel Bicalutamide-Resistant Androgen Receptor-Positive Triple Negative Breast Cancer Line

Allison Winter-Reed
Biology, Computer Sciences
Jon Audhya, Faculty Advisor
High-Throughput Analysis to Assess Gait Dysfunction in Rodent Models of Hereditary Spastic Paraplegia

Zhaoyi Zhang
Computer Sciences
Claudia Solis Lemus, Faculty Advisor
Understanding Antibiotic Resistance in Bacteria from Whole-Genome Sequences

Sophomore Research Fellowships

Funded by generous grants from the Brittingham Fund and the Kemper K. Knapp Bequest, the Sophomore Research Fellowships provide $2,500 each to undergraduate students and $500 to their faculty/staff advisors to work in collaboration on research projects. Award recipients and their faculty advisors are listed below.

Sarah Fahlberg
Biochemistry, Computer Sciences
Philip Romero, Faculty Advisor
Engineering of Acyl-CoA Reductases for the Improved Production of Computer Sciences Fatty Alcohols via Biosynthesis

Conor Perreault
Computer Sciences, Mathematics, Political Science
Jerry Zhu, Faculty Advisor
Stability of Algorithms in Deep Reinforcement Learning with a Teacher Mathematics, Political Science