Students and faculty recognized at 2014 departmental awards ceremony

Students and faculty at Union South for the awards luncheon

On Wednesday, April 23, the Department of Computer Sciences held its annual Computer Sciences Majors and Awards Lunch at Varsity Hall in Union South.  Honorees were as follows:

DeWitt Undergraduate Scholarship:  Xiang Zhi Tan

Summer RAships:  Rex Fernando,  Steven Johnson, Xiang Zhi Tan

Service Award:  WACM (ACM's Women in Computing)

Graduate Student Instructor Award:  Aaron Gember

Landweber NCR Graduate Fellowship in Distributed Systems:  Wenfei Wu

Klug NCR Graduate Fellowship in Database Systems:  Yinan Li (for a second year)

Rosner Award for Excellence in Teaching:  Professor Paul Barford

Graduate Research Award:  Aditya Thakur, Balasubramanian Sivan (shared)

Additionally, SACM (Wisconsin’s student chapter of ACM) presented its Student Choice Professor of the Year Award (also known as the “cow award"), which is based on student votes and recognizes excellence in classroom teaching.  This year’s honor was shared between Professor Jeff Naughton and Professor Jignesh Patel.

Congratulations to all for their hard work and accomplishments!