Students, faculty and staff honored at annual awards lunch

On May 1, the Department of Computer Sciences held its annual Computer Sciences Majors and Awards Lunch in the DeLuca Forum at the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery.  This year's honorees were as follows:

Summer Research Assistantships

  • Akhil Guliani
  • Sharath Prabhudeva Hiremath
  • Jing Liu
  • Yuzhe Ma
  • David Merrell
  • Kan Wu
  • Xuezhou Zhang

David DeWitt Undergraduate Scholarship ($8,000)

  • Evan Hernandez
  • Haylee Jane Monteiro
  • Peter van Sandt

Graduate Student Instructor Award
Mark Mansi

Cisco Systems Distinguished Graduate Fellowship
J. Benjamin Miller
Peng Liu

UW CS Graduate Student Research Award
Venkatesh Srinivasan

UW CS Department Outstanding Service Award
Mike Swift

Carolyn Rosner Award for Excellence in Teaching
Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau (to watch a short video about Prof. Arpaci-Dusseau's outreach work, visit )

SACM Student Choice Professor of the Year Award (aka the "cow award")

Aditya Akella

In addition to the honorees above, many in the department received "golden brick" awards designed to recognized the many unsung tasks that go on the in the department that are critical to making it an outstanding place to study, work, and conduct research.

Click here to read about why each golden brick honoree was chosen.

The "golden brick" recipients are:

  • Meena Syamkumar (graduate student)
  • Nikki Lemmon (undergraduate advisor)
  • Aditya Akella (professor)
  • Alayna Truttman (student)
  • Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau (professor)
  • Angela Thorp (graduate coordinator)
  • Chuck Dyer (professor)
  • Gary Dahl (faculty associate)
  • Gerald Soosai Raj (graduate student)
  • Jim Williams (faculty associate)
  • Jinman Zhao (student)
  • Kai Zhao (graduate student)
  • Kate Zellmer (student)
  • Laura Hobbes Legault (faculty associate)
  • Mark Mansi (graduate student)
  • Welcome Weekend team
  • Jude Shavlik (professor)
  • Rita Roloff (student)
  • Shuchi Chawla (professor)
  • Sue Gallagher (department manager)
  • Zev Weiss (graduate student)
  • Tracy Lewis-Williams (faculty associate)
  • WACM (student organization, represented by Meena Syamkumar et al.)
  • The Hub (student organization, represented by Benjamin Hansen)
  • SACM (student organizations, represented by Yash Govind)