Alumnus wins Maurice Wilkes Award

Wisconsin CS is pleased to note that alumnus Ravi Rajwar (PhD 2002) has won the prestigious Maurice Wilkes Award, which is given for "an outstanding contribution to computer architecture made by an individual whose computer-related professional career... started no earlier than January 1st of the year that is 20 years prior to the year of the award."  The award is given by SIGARCH, ACM's Special Interest Group on Computer Architecture.  In particular, Rajwar was commended for "contributions to the design and commercialization of hardware transactional memory."

Rajwar joins an impressive list of Badger winners of this award.  Other recent winners include:

2010 – Andreas Moshovos: For foundational contributions to the area of memory dependence prediction.

2009 – Shubu Mukherjee: For outstanding contributions to modeling and design of soft-error tolerant microarchitectures.

2008 – Sarita Adve: For formalization of memory consistency models, especially data-race free models, and their influence on both hardware and high-level languages.

2007 – Todd Austin: For innovative contributions in Computer Architecture including the SimpleScalar Toolkit and the DIVA and Razor architectures.

2006 – Doug Burger: For contributions to spatially distributed processor and memory systems architecture.

2005 – Steve Scott: For seminal contributions to the architecture and design of high-performance computer systems and interconnection networks.