Prof. Reps named J. Barkley Rosser Professor

Four faculty members in UW-Madison's College of Letters & Science have been appointed to Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation named professorships.  The appointments include $75,000 in research support from WARF over five years.  Included is Professor Tom Reps, who also holds the Rajiv and Ritu Batra Chair in Computer Sciences.  With this new distinction, Reps is also the J. Barkley Rosser Professor of Computer Sciences.  Reps' work focuses on program analysis and verification, addressing one of the most important technological issues faced by society: ensuring that the software that surrounds us behaves correctly.

Read more about Reps in this story by Chris Barncard and this story by David Tenenbaum, both of UW-Madison University Communications.

About J. Barkley Rosser

J. Barkley Rosser served the University of Wisconsin with great distinction as Director of the Mathematics Research Center and Professor of Computer Sciences and Mathematics.  He was an authority on symbolic logic, numerical analysis, number theory, and ballistics. His breadth is illustrated by the fact that he served as President of the Association for Symbolic Logic, as President of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and on the Space Vehicle Panel that planned the Apollo project. His books include Logic for Mathematicians and the Mathematical Theory of Rocket Flight.  In computer science, he did important early work on the lambda calculus, which provides an elegant foundation for studying functional programming languages.

Rosser received his Ph.D. from Princeton in 1934. After fellowships at Princeton and Harvard, he joined the faculty at Cornell. He came to Wisconsin in 1963 to direct the Mathematics Research Center, and played an important role in the founding of the Computer Sciences Department. He retired in 1978 and died in 1989.

Rosser received Guggenheim and Fulbright Fellowships, and honorary doctorates from the University of Florida and Otterbein College. He received the Presidential Certificate of Merit (1948) and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1967).