Graduate fellowships

Annually, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Computer Sciences awards up to four graduate fellowships providing nine months of support to outstanding students pursuing the doctoral degree. Each graduate fellowship provides tuition plus a stipend. The principal criteria for fellowship selection are academic merit, creativity, research accomplishments and commitment to research. Student must be a full time CS graduate student in dissertator status who is  conducting research within the department and is supervised by a CS faculty member.

Fellowship sponsors

CS graduate fellowships are a reality because of the generosity of our alumni and friends who have endowed them. Each fellowship carries its own name as designated by the donor. New fellows are matched with a named fellowship based on the mutual interests of the donor and the fellow.

The fellowships we award are:

  • Anthony Klug NCR Fellowship in Database Systems
  • Cisco Systems Distinguished Graduate Fellowships (2), preference given to US Citizens
  • Lawrence H. Landweber NCR Fellowship in Distributed Systems

How to Apply:

Students must be nominated by a CS faculty member. Nominations deadline TBA. Each nomination includes:

  • A nomination letter from the nominator detailing the reasons for the nomination (maximum of two pages)
  • Two additional supporting letters from faculty
  • Nominee's CV
  • Up to 3 publications authored or co-authored by the nominee

Nominations to renew an existing fellowship may also be submitted.